Who Am I Stalking? [1] — Alissa @ The Grammarian’s Reviews


button designed by TaraSG

Some of you may recognize this feature from 25 Hour Books.  I was in the market for a feature to showcase the bloggers I simply can’t live without, Tara usually lets me do whatever I want if I pester her enough, and Who Am I Stalking? seemed appropriate. Win-win.  But please, no restraining orders are necessary.  I stalk with love, people.  It is a badge of honor.  Wear it with pride!

Welcome to my very first Who Am I Stalking? feature!  I chose Alissa from The Grammarian’s Reviews for my first victi–er–feature because I stalk her like mad on Twitter and pester her to do my thesis revisions for me, even though she hates revisions.  We also share a love of coffee, though I’m pretty sure she loves coffee more than I do.  I’m not really sure how I first stumbled across Alissa’s blog.  I may have been told by someone about her Grammar Bits feature or I was simply lured in by her blog title.  Grammar.  I love grammar, guys.  So does Alissa.  How could I not like her?  I mean, sure, we don’t read a lot of the same books, but that doesn’t stop us from being best friends:

Right.  Now for the important stuff!

1. Describe yourself in six words. (e.g., English teacher helps students access knowledge)

Coffee-loving student makes a grammatical difference.

2. What has been your most exciting moment as a book blogger?

I’d posted a lovely 5-star review of The Half-Life of Planets, then decided to read up on the two authors, Brendan Halpin and Emily Franklin, to see if they had any other books I’d be interested in. To my complete surprise, Brendan had given a shout-out to my review on his Facebook page, and Emily had e-mailed me her thanks. It was the first time an author (in this case, two) had publicly thanked and contacted me. I didn’t think that, as a book blogger, I’d ever receive that kind of acknowledgment.

And, chatting with authors on Twitter. This is because I’d held out on getting a Twitter account for so long, then discovered how much of a presence authors have online. To me, talking to them is priceless. And winning their contests is even better. After winning my first Twitter author contest, I freaked out…while at work. It was great.

3. Since starting The Grammarian’s Reviews, what is the best book that you have read?  The worst?

Oh man. There’s no way I can pick one best and one worst. But, one book I did gush over for a while was The Half-Life of Planets by Brendan Halpin and Emily Franklin. Recently, though, I’ve been all aboard the Anna and the French Kiss and The Iron Knight hype trains.

As for the worst book, that would be Banana Kiss by Bonnie Rozanski.

4. Why do you think reading is important?

Reading is a foundation. It’s fundamental for learning and discovering. I know that sounds overused, but it’s true. With reading, you can do anything: create, analyze, decipher, teach, etc. I can’t imagine a life without it.

5. What are some of your favorite reviews (or memes, features, discussions, etc) that you have written for The Grammarian’s Reviews?

My review for The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa is a favorite because I wrote it when I was very, very excited.

My favorite discussion, by far, was my fired-up response about a certain author’s advice.

Another favorite discussion of mine was my lengthy post about why I dislike The Hunger Games trilogy. Yes, I said dislike.

6. Your Blogger profile says that you are a promoter of the importance of grammar.  Why do you think grammar is so important?

Why do people think grammar isn’t important? is a better question.

Our language is based off of a system. That system is composed of an alphabet which then forms words. To put those words and letters together, you need grammar. It’s essential.

But to me, grammar is more than essential. It’s a form of respect – of both communication with others and the language itself. To pay no attention to grammar is to be careless, ignorant and taking advantage of/taking for granted the way we communicate.

It’s not only important to use grammar, but to also understand it.

___

Amen to that.  I often liken language to clothing; to make the best impression, you must wear the right clothing.  Language is no different, especially in a world where so much of our communication is written.  And how can a person use language without grammar?

You can stalk Alissa, too!  Find her:

Blog | TwitterGoodreadsFacebook

28 Replies to “Who Am I Stalking? [1] — Alissa @ The Grammarian’s Reviews”

  1. Amanda – Glad you borrowed this feature from 25 Hour Books. ;-) I think it’s a fab idea and I look forward to future installments.

    Alissa – I think it’s safe to say you’ve acquired a new stalker. ;-)

  2. I just got back from reading Alissa’s “Say what?” post, and I found the post/comments/links to be completely fascinating. My mind is still boggling.

    Also, love the response to the last question. Yes, grammar is important, but just like everything in life, some are better at understanding it than others. *be’s in the others category”

    1. I agree, that post is mind boggling. I understand both sides of the situation so well that I’m not sure which side I’m on.

      I’ve always considered grammar to be like math. Grammar rules are like formulas and words are like numbers. And, like math, some people are better at it than others. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. It’s just the way life is. :)

      1. I certainly understand both sides of the situation as well, but one thing that struck me, and that I didn’t understand was this part of Kane’s comment:
        “2. How often do you see professional actors critiquing other actors? Musicians critiquing other musicians?

        You don’t get to be a professional writer without developing a thick skin. That doesn’t mean you have to like getting bad reviews, and it certainly doesn’t mean you’re obligated to help anyone who asks, even if they have in the past told people your work isn’t good.”

          1. And what writer would ask for a blurb from another writer whose work they didn’t like or vice versa?

            Extreme example, but I doubt that Stephanie Meyer would ever ask Stephen King for a blurb after he PUBLICLY dissed her writing.

            hmmm… Is that not a writer critiquing a writer?

          2. Missie, it’s like you READ MY MIND. Or maybe you just licked it. Whatever. ;) I had the same thought. I certainly wouldn’t put my name on anything I didn’t like.

  3. Love this feature! Nothing like being stalked to show you how much people really care:) I wish I was better at grammar, I know I could be if I worked at it obviously, but it’s always been something I’ve been poor at even in school. I’m sure my reviews are chock full of errors.

    Loved the story about the authors contacting her about her review! So cool to interact with the authors whose books we read:)

    1. Exactly! I stalk with love! :)

      One of my graduate courses was about grammar, and one of the first things that my professor told us was that native speakers are the worst teachers of grammar. Just being a native speaker doesn’t mean we consciously understand grammar rules, especially when it comes to written language. It’s taken me multiple years and a few linguistics courses to understand as much about grammar as I do, and even I am not perfect (even though I’d like to be). So, that was my long-winded way of saying, “Don’t worry about it.” ;)

  4. Ok so I went over and read all 3 of her favorite articles :) I love that she is strongly opinionated and not afraid to state her POVs.

    I am taking a Grammar Refresher course. It is probably one of the best decisions I have made this year. I am amazed at how many “grammar foundations” that I have forgotten since school 20 years ago!

    Great Feature!

    1. Some day I will not be afraid to state my POV (I am already strongly opinionated, heh). :)

      I’m always amazed at how many grammar rules I’ve never formally learned. ;) I’ve picked up a lot through teaching it. But then, the best way to learn something is to teach it to someone else.

  5. *cont from above because I ran out of room*

    Huh? Okay, yes. Popular fiction is vastly different from literature, but in every literature class I’ve had in grad school, my professors, who are also writers, tear literary work up like nobody’s business. Why not? How else are we to evaluate one’s work and learn from it. Learn what we appreciated about it and what we didn’t.

    I don’t view critiquing musicians and actors in the same category as reviewing fiction. And even if it was, you can believe that actors and musicians critique each other, but since readers/writers are not in the same circle as them, they miss it. If a writer sat in on an acting class, I’m sure they would hear a ton of critiques on acting styles that are lead by specific examples.

    I’m not sure if I’m expressing myself correctly, and I’m sorry to go off topic, but Alissa’s post gave me a lot of food for thought. :)

    1. I think you’re expressing yourself just fine. ;)

      ANYTHING that involves producing something will get critiqued by others who do the same. I think this is part of human nature. Writers, musicians, actors, whoever. If you don’t look at or examine or analyze what other people are doing, you’re never going to grow or learn. Just because the critique isn’t public doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen.

  6. Being able to reply on WP is cool, but after a while it looks crazy.

    Okay, I promise to move on now. I’ve got a massive blogroll with my name on it, begging me to move on. LOL

  7. Oh wow! I read Halpin and Franklin’s Jenna and Jonah’s Fauxmance but I had no idea that they had written other books together I will definitely be checking that out! :)

    I <3 Alissa's blog! Thanks for featuring her. I loved this interview.

  8. What an interesting discussion post, thanks Amanda and Alissa!

    I liken the necessity for using proper grammar to the necessity for breathing air. Both things are essential to us in different ways. Without proper grammar it is easy to misunderstand a statement be it spoken or written. Without breathing we die! Anyway, it has been fun to stop by and even more fun to find both of you ladies blogs. I am now signed up Amanda and heading over to Alissa’s to probably do the same.

  9. I started reading this post but took several detours, first to Alissa’s blog, then the links re Stacia Kane. All fruit for thought. I admire your mission, Alissa. Proper grammar just makes the world a lovelier place.

    1. If I had to pick a t-shirt to represent me, that would definitely be it!

      Thank you for commenting! I like to mention you both (and your books!) as often as I can. :)

Comments are closed.